Lionesses fans ‘disgusted’ as only four players recognised in New Year Honours list | Football | Sport

Sir Hugh Robertson, who is the chairman of the honours committee, tried to justify the selection when questioned why the overall workforce had been not recognised. He mentioned: “The approach that we have experimented with to consider with this is when we have these functions there is a threat in form of carpet bombing the complete squad simply because then you get people today who’ve completed five minutes on the pitch and get an award. So what we have tried to do is stick to the principle of the honours which is to recognise excellence and to recognise amazing contributions.”

Some had been not pleased with the explanation although, with Day by day Mail reporter Dominic King labelling it nonsense: “If Gareth Southgate’s squad experienced received the Entire world Cup, each and every member would have acquired the recognition in the honours listing. It is puzzling, then, why every member of Sarina Wiegman’s squad hasn’t been honoured. Sir Hugh Robertson’s clarification for the exclusivity is nonsense, as well,” he wrote.

Irrespective of some statements, the Telegraph reported final yr that only Harry Kane, Raheem Sterling and Gareth Southgate would’ve obtained honours experienced they gained the Euro 2020 ultimate from Italy.